Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
ABowlin Offline OP
Shade Tree Mechanic
OP Offline
Shade Tree Mechanic
Hello from Kansas City!
I am a new lucky owner of a 1933 Chevy 1.5 ton truck – gifted to me from my Dad. It’s a 20+ yr old restoration. Runs, but smokes a bunch. Goes slow and hard to brake- all expected. I’m wondering if anyone has advice on swapping out the rear axle/gear ratio to keep up with traffic as well as recommendations on best updates to brakes for safer, quicker stops? I’ve considered seeing if I could convert the flat bed into a 34 1/2 ton pickup- anyone ever do that? Is that a silly idea? Ideally I would love to end up with a safer, faster, more reliable truck for in-town traffic driving. Any advice is welcome- know that I’m brand new to this!

Filling Station - Chevrolet & GMC Reproduction Parts

Filling Station

ChatMaster - 4,000
ChatMaster - 4,000
Welcome to VCCA Chat. That sounds like great original truck.

As you know, changing the rear axle ratio will change the relationship between engine speed and ground speed. In your case, I am assuming you want to reduce the engine speed for a given ground speed.

I’m not an expert on your truck so I do not know what other axle ratios might be available. Typically for that old a 1 1/2 ton truck there was only one ratio and it was intended to give pulling power, not speed. The other factor to consider is that even if you could install a higher speed ratio the engine might not have the power to make the vehicle go any faster. Plus your acceleration will be reduced.

A key point which you note is that brakes are a limitation. Those mechanical brakes need to be properly maintained and adjusted. As a first step I suggest you get a shop manual and go through the adjustment procedure. You might be surprised how much better they will work.