Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Barbj Offline OP
Grease Monkey
OP Offline
Grease Monkey
Hi I bought my uncles 1927 Chevrolet pick up truck 3 wks ago. It has been stored in a barn for the past 60+years and it needs some work. My 14 yr old son and I am attempting to do some restoration and repairs on it. I have been attempting to find out more information on this year of truck. I have been able to find some information and found a reproduction repair manual online that I ordered, but have not received yet

I would appreciate any information that anyone could provide. I am not a mechanic nor do I have any experience with this type of thing, but Im learning as I go. There are parts on here I have no idea what they are...

I have found already found some information off this site which has been very helpful. Especially in regards to the vacuum tank, which I took apart cleaned and reassembled. hopefully have resolved that problem.

I believe I need a new head gasket. Does anyone have a suggestion on where to order one?

I know my uncle did some work on it at some point, he replaced some of the wood on the box and my dad thinks he may have replaced the carburetor with a "Tillitson high speed"? one back in the 50's, but Im not sure. Other than that Im not sure what is original or not. If anyone has pictures or diagrams that they are willing to share that might be helpful.

Thank you in advance for your time.
Barb

Filling Station - Chevrolet & GMC Reproduction Parts

Filling Station

Shade Tree Mechanic
Shade Tree Mechanic
Get to know these websites https://www.fillingstation.com/
http://earlychevyparts.com/ http://www.marxparts.com/
you can get pretty much all parts for the 1927 motor just not carbs, heads, engine blocks etc all have to be used. But gaskets and tune up parts etc are all available.