Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#104259 07/16/07 03:09 PM
TaylorD Offline OP
Shade Tree Mechanic
OP Offline
Shade Tree Mechanic
OK. I'm the guy with the stuck in the garage Chevy. Good news, I finally got impatient, the rain quit and I hooked up a chain to it and pulled it out of the garage. So then we hooked up a gas can and tried to start it (It hasn't run in 5-6 years?)It took a bit, but gas finally appeared in the fuel pump bowl. Carburetor didn't appear to be getting gas. Finally, it appears to be getting gas. When you pull the throttle as you crank it, gas shoots out of the jet. It doesn't appear to be getting spark. What's next? I'm a real novice at this. Could it be the coil. Other question, when you turn the ignition key straight up, it cranks. When you turn it to the right, it cranks. When you pull the key out, it cranks. But is it possible that any of these settings will allow it to crank, but won't allow it to start. Any help out there? I know this is a bad time of day to be asking. There seems to be some trick to the chat site search engine and I haven't got that figured out yet.
Thanks.
David

ChatMaster - 25,000
ChatMaster - 25,000