Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#486498 10/26/23 12:33 AM
Grease Monkey
OP Offline
Grease Monkey
Good evening everyone I just purchased my first 1935 Chevy master deluxe very beautiful car. Everything has been restored and redone in this car but I just found out that my carburetor is not any good I have two questions, the first question would be is can I switch out this Carter carburetor to a 2,16 Rochester carburetor.

Second question is, has anybody ever had any problems with the car getting between 190 and 200°. Any info any numbers or I can call anybody would be very helpful. Thank you.

JB
Filling Station - Chevrolet & GMC Reproduction Parts

Filling Station

Grease Monkey
Grease Monkey
Can't answer the first question, but as for the second: I have a 34 Master and I had an overheating/boiling over problem. A friend and I discovered the distributor was causing a problem (advance, I believe). At the same time, I had a radiator fan shroud built for it. I haven't had the problem since and don't know if just the distributor fix would have solved the problem. Something to check???

Hall Monitor
ChatMaster - 7,000
Hall Monitor
ChatMaster - 7,000
That sort of temp could be normal depending on the circumstances. Is that the "normal" temp it always runs or is that where it sits after driving highway speeds then slowing down in town? If it's the latter it's probably no big deal. In those circumstances the temp will spike for a while. Make sure you have a 160 thermostat in the car. A 160 will be fully open at ~160. If someone put a 180 in the car it'll always run hot on the gauge.

VCCA Member 43216
Save a life, adopt a senior shelter pet.
1938 HB Business Coupe
1953 210 Sedan
Grease Monkey
OP Offline
Grease Monkey