Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#456617 04/17/21 02:24 PM
ConnorV Offline OP
Shade Tree Mechanic
OP Offline
Shade Tree Mechanic
Hello All,
I thought I would make a thread to document my adventures with a 1927 firetruck I am restoring for my landlord who bought 2 29 Chevy coupes and this firetruck about 10 years ago. I am a professional mechanic with a few years experience in a restoration shop and 8 years as a BMW tech. Anyway onward with the fun stuff!

This truck has been sitting for a long time, and supposedly ran about 12 years ago. Here are some photos of the truck as I was introduced to it. And after we excavated around it.

I know many on this forum are purists and like to see originality maintained, but that is not what is in store for this truck. It is going to be a parade vehicle, and a fun toy for the grand kids. Things will be modernized here and there where sensible, and functionality will prevail against originality, while maintaining the spirit of the 20s.

All thoughts, comments, advice, or insults welcome! devil laugh

I will make a post documenting each section of the projects as time permits, and as progress continues.

Attached Images
IMG_3964.JPG IMG_4024.JPG IMG_4026.JPG
Last edited by ConnorV; 04/17/21 02:59 PM.
Filling Station - Chevrolet & GMC Reproduction Parts

Filling Station

ConnorV Offline OP
Shade Tree Mechanic
OP Offline
Shade Tree Mechanic
The tires on this truck were 75-90+ years old, and might as well have been made of granite. I wanted to start with the wheels to get the chassis mobile. First things first was to get the wheels off the truck. I started with the split rims. After getting them off the wheels, I chose the hottest Texas summer day to sit outside with a grinder and sawsall to hack the ancient rubber from the rims.