Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#444988 07/10/20 11:15 PM
Glen_T Offline OP
Grease Monkey
OP Offline
Grease Monkey
Hello Everyone - Yes, I'm a newbie and I've got a first time project ahead of me. My son and I bought a 1933 Chevy Pickup and it needs a complete engine rebuild amongst other things. Of course, the engine was running fine before a starter problem and then it sat inside and out for years - according to previous owner. Hmmmmm

Needless to say we have our work cut out for us. We had to completely tear down the engine (cleaned, bagged and labeled parts), have a few cylinders sleeved and buy new pistons. This was done by a very reputable shop in SoCal. Now we're in the process of rebuilding it. I bought a few books but none of them talk about the 1933 specifically. Can someone recommend a book or other source for some guidance. Also, some parts are pretty bad off, like the thermostat housing. I've search the internet but can't seem to find anyone that sells this part. Also, the most of the wood in the cab needs to be replaced. I am pretty handy with wood so I think I can make most or all the pieces. BUT, can anyone recommend a place that sells the wood pieces? Or someone that sells templates to make the pieces? I found one place and it was about $5k with S/H etc.

Any help with resources for parts and rebuilding guidance would be great. Like when installing shims on the main bearing, how do you know if the shim(s) is the right thickness? Is it all by feel? I will start by putting the same ones back in but will that be right? What are the torque values for the bolts? All these questions are running around in my head. You all have been there, you know more than me what I need . . . I don't know what I don't know! Is this engine a 194? That has been conclusion.