Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#444751 07/05/20 10:12 AM
PhilC Offline OP
Grease Monkey
OP Offline
Grease Monkey
Good morning. I subscribed here a while back to learn about the '30 Chevy coupe I've been working on for several years and this forum has been a big help.

The coupe isn't mine, belongs to a local resident who asked me to do the "restoration" (term used lightly). I've learned a lot here, bought all the manuals from the Filling Station which were a great resource. I don't have help or other resources, just me, and when I need more than my 2 hands, my son who was also invaluable with recreating rotten wood parts. That was, IMO, the biggest challenge and fiasco of the entire project.

I'm very close to assembly, boxes and boxes of parts ordered over the past couple years as I got closer to needing them readily on hand. One question I hope someone can help with is windlace. This car had windlace everywhere, between junction of fenders/running boards/side shields, none on rear fenders, and between visor and body. Either I've missed it in the manual or it's not covered.

So, my question - where should windlace actually be or did it depend on which plant the car was manufactured?

Thanks for any help!

Last edited by PhilC; 07/21/20 10:39 AM.
Filling Station - Chevrolet & GMC Reproduction Parts

Filling Station

ChatMaster - 2,000
ChatMaster - 2,000
There is windlace on the rear render to body seam, from down by the running board all the way along the fuel tank apron. There is some along the front fenders to splash aprons joint all the way t the rear of the running boards. The running board ends to front and rear fenders get heavy weight tar paper. Buy 3/16” windlace, not 1/4” as it’s too big and is ugly. Sometimes there are older rolls on eBay. They are way better than the new stuff available.

ChatMaster - 1,500