Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#441529 04/20/20 02:16 PM
Vray62 Offline OP
Grease Monkey
OP Offline
Grease Monkey
Hi, Newbie here. Just got my first Chevy. My background is in Ford T's. Grandpa restored this 1930 Chevy in 1996. He was 84 and passed away after driving it one time. It's been sitting in moms garage since, being started and driven occasionally but not for 5 years. Had no spark. Replaced coil, rotor, and condenser. Got carb rebuild kit and soaked and blew out carb (RJH-08 150) but only replaced leather and spring on accelerator pump. Compression test is 70 across the board. Starts and runs but only on half choke. Fuel pump pumping well. Next I'm going to check carb float adjustment. 3/4" from cast to top of float? Then maybe manifold gaskets? Then maybe send carb to a good rebuilder on here if still no luck. Am I on the right track? Thanks! (Would post a pic if I knew how)

-Vray. "Hating people is like burning down your own house to get a rat"
"It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to open
your mouth and remove all doubt"
Become a Member!

JOIN THE VCCA and get access to the member-only features of the forum, including the ability to upload photos. You'll also receive our monthly magazine "Generator & Distributor". Yearly membership as low as $25!

ChatMaster - 1,000
ChatMaster - 1,000
You are just going to have to eliminate potential causes one by one. Still could be the fuel delivery system. Plugged inlet pipe, stiff diaphragm, pump check valves fouled, etc. Could be the carburetor too. Make a list start at an end , in the middle, wherever you like. You'll find it, or it could be a combination of several minor things. Post back as to what you find. Art

ChatMaster - 6,000
ChatMaster - 6,000
Welcome to Chatter