Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Grease Monkey
OP Offline
Grease Monkey
Hi
i have a 1948 stylemaster with a lot of slack in the gearbox
and tried to tighten the nut with no luck
i have checked to make sure its the gear and the wheel moves before the pitman arm moves so I know its mostly the box
what options do i have with this as far as swapping it out?
i search and come across a vega box but cant find anyone that has actually done it
also, i know the steering shaft is one piece that connects to the steering wheel, i have seen those rebuild kits as well but I heard they don't last

thanks

Filling Station - Chevrolet & GMC Reproduction Parts

Filling Station

ChatMaster - 6,000
ChatMaster - 6,000
When you turn the wheel it should remain at a steady height in relation to the jacket. the next adjustment adjusts the worm to sector meshing which is the most likely cause of your problem. The sector end play can cause some slack.
Tony

1938 1/2 ton Hope to drive it before I retire
ChatMaster - 2,000
ChatMaster - 2,000