Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Jonda1 Offline OP
Backyard Mechanic
OP Offline
Backyard Mechanic
I have a 33 Master Coupe. It keeps blowing 10 amp brake light fuses. It seems like if anything metal touches the outside of the brake light switch the fuse will blow. It doesn't make sense because the switch itself is attached with a bolt and is grounded. I have taken the switch apart and everything looks good inside. It doesn't look like anything inside the switch could short out against the casing.

Dennis

Tech Advisor
ChatMaster - 25,000
Tech Advisor
ChatMaster - 25,000
Look for a direct short in other areas of the lighting circuit.

laugh wink beer2

The Mangy Old Mutt

"If It's Not Junk.....It's Not Treasure!"
Backyard Mechanic
Backyard Mechanic
One place to look - inside the tail light sockets. If there are any particles of rust in them, they could be a cause of the line (hence fuse) shorting. Another place might be the directional signals switch (if you have signals). I kept blowing fuses in the tail light circuit on a car I once owned (not GM) and out of frustration trying to find it, replaced the fuse with a piece of tinfoil. When the smoke started coming up out of the steering column I knew I had found it. It was the signals switch.

Jonda1 Offline OP
Backyard Mechanic
OP Offline
Backyard Mechanic
kaygee…..Hmm, I think I'll save the tin foil trick for the last resort. The tail light sockets with rust is a good idea. I wouldn't have thought of that. Thanks.

Dennis

ChatMaster - 1,500
Online Content
ChatMaster - 1,500
Originally Posted by Junkyard Dog
Look for a direct short in other areas of the lighting circuit.

laugh wink beer2
I agree with JYD, look for a bare wire between the switch and the tail light or in the tail light.

Ed
ChatMaster - 6,000
ChatMaster - 6,000