Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#417447 11/14/18 12:36 AM
Grease Monkey
OP Offline
Grease Monkey
Hello all , my name is shane and am a new member, I am in the process of paying off my first chev , from my late brothers wife, a 1931 tourer , he had owned it for 40 years and restored it in the last 5 , Finnished it got it registered did one 800 km trip which I followed for 500km in my 56 dodge , he then stored it while doing a caravan trip to celebrate his retirement from engineering, he soon after suddenly passed away, 4 years later is where we are now, during restoration he wanted to make the car reliable and able to do long trips with similar cars , he wanted 12 volt wiring to suit camping fridges , radio , spare battery lights so I totally rewired everything as I am an electrician and cheep ,brothers rates ,(beer and curry for payment)
Also he fitted an electric water pump, thermos fans , modern light bulbs, alternator , downdraft carby , other than that it looks original,
So my first question is about the engine and torque tube arrangement , I have never worked with these before, the engine is a little Smokey , and I want to do a lot of long trips as in a solid week at a time maybe 5 or 6 hour days ,
Can the original engine handle this sort of task and is upgrading to the 235 with pressure oiled engine from the late 50s not an option , thanks shane

Become a Member!

JOIN THE VCCA and get access to the member-only features of the forum, including the ability to upload photos. You'll also receive our monthly magazine "Generator & Distributor". Yearly membership as low as $25!

ChatMaster - 1,500
ChatMaster - 1,500