Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#399631 12/12/17 02:53 PM
Backyard Mechanic
OP Offline
Backyard Mechanic
Yesterday was my 5th month anniversary on the Chevy Chatter site. I came to this site as an absolute novice when it came down to working on cars, especially cars that were 90 years old. I have learned a significant amount of information from the posts on this site. In addition to this site, the friends that I have made through the National and Local chapters of the VCCA and the wealth of information they have shared with me is truly amazing. For that I'm extremely grateful.

What I intend to do with this topic is discuss my ups and downs thus far and those that are in my future. I'm sure it will be comical for some of you reading about my mistakes and my lack of knowledge. But I'm making progress, really.

I'll try not to bore you, but hopefully I, as a novice, can point out something that will be helpful to someone else down the road. Not all of us grew up playing in and around the garage while their dad was busy working on old cars, I certainly didn't. I had dreamed about doing this for some time, but I think I was just afraid to jump out there and get started because of my lack of knowledge. I know my dad would have loved to have done this with me. He wasn't mechanically skilled but he often talked about his '39 Chevy that he sold for $50 when he went into the service, or his '57 Chevy he had when he was dating my mom.
So, here I go, giving kudos along the way to those that have been so helpful, hope you'll come along for the ride.

[Linked Image from vccachat.org]
This is the day I took possession of my 1925 Superior K, I've named her Belle.

Jeff

1925 Superior K 4 Dr Sedan
1966 C10
2003 Silverado 1500 HD
Filling Station - Chevrolet & GMC Reproduction Parts

Filling Station

Backyard Mechanic
OP Offline
Backyard Mechanic