Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Camile Offline OP
Shade Tree Mechanic
OP Offline
Shade Tree Mechanic
I've been having my '37 for about 8 months. A buddy was at my house today and wanted to hear it run so I cranked it up for him. It has an electric fan attached to the radiator to help with cooling. As my buddy walked by it he noticed the air was blowing out to the front instead of blowing to the radiator and the engine. Now I'm by no means a great mechanic but it seems to me that the fan should be blowing cooler outside air through the radiator and engine and not out to the front. Can anyone confirm how these fans should be set up?

ChatMaster - 25,000
ChatMaster - 25,000
The fan factory sucts air through the radiator and it passes over the engine.
An eletric fan mounted IN FRONT of the radiator should blow air through the radiator.

Last edited by Chev Nut; 07/30/14 09:12 PM.

Gene Schneider
Camile Offline OP
Shade Tree Mechanic
OP Offline
Shade Tree Mechanic
That's what I thought too. It seems like the fan would be fighting the clean air coming in through the radiator. That may be some of the recent overheating issues I've been having. I recently changed my thermostat thinking that was my problem. Now I gotta take my grill off and see if I can somehow turn that fan around. Thanks for the quick reply.

ChatMaster - 2,000
ChatMaster - 2,000
I haven't used one of these fans but, if there are two wires coming from the fan, I would think reversing the polarity of the wires might make that fan turn the correct way. It depends on the fan motor design.

My 1951 1 Ton is now on the road! My 38 Master 4 Door is also now on the road .
Camile Offline OP
Shade Tree Mechanic
OP Offline
Shade Tree Mechanic
10-4. I'll try that first. Sounds much easier. Lol

ChatMaster - 6,000
ChatMaster - 6,000