Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Backyard Mechanic
OP Offline
Backyard Mechanic
I just got home from the Mid-Western Regional Meet in Emporia, Kansas. On the two tours my '34 Standard finally logged some miles (200+) beyond the 50 or so it had ran since being overhauled by my father-in-law some 20 years ago. It ran fine with no problems other than a slight, light, knock at about 35 MPH, or when accelerating or going uphill. On level grade or downhill it was quiet.

I had one of the VCCA members who is a retired GM mechanic (with experience with old sixes) take a ride with me to listen. He wasn't sure what the source was but thought it is most likely a rod that is a bit loose. He also suggested that I get it fixed. I have no experience with lower engine repair so I will be looking for someone in the K.C. area to do the work.

In the meantime, I want to try to determine which cylinder (or main bearing) has the problem. I (kind of) understand how to use a stethoscope to listen for noise while shorting a plug wire and revving the engine. It is hard to hear the knock unless driving with a load on the engine. But anyone who can give me more detailed instructions or suggestions as to how I should proceed would be greatly appreciated.

Also, I learned from some discussion that 10w30 detergent oil is not good for babbitt bearings and it was suggested I go to non-detergent 30 weight. Someone even suggested that straight 30 weight might eliminate the knock. Any thoughts here also?

1934 Three Window Coupe
[img]http://www.youngsdecks.com/YoungsDecks/1934_Chevy.html[/img]
Filling Station - Chevrolet & GMC Reproduction Parts

Filling Station

Tech Advisor
ChatMaster - 25,000
Tech Advisor
ChatMaster - 25,000
I learned from some discussion that 10w30 detergent oil is not good for babbitt bearings.....