Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Oreo Offline OP
Shade Tree Mechanic
OP Offline
Shade Tree Mechanic
I'm new to the enclosed drive shaft world (all my experience has been with open u-joint drive shafts) so is there any tricks to removing the enclosed torque tube set ups? Does rear end have to be removed from springs or is there an easy method I just don't know about?
Thanks for helping a beginner here!

Filling Station - Chevrolet & GMC Reproduction Parts

Filling Station

Grease Monkey
Grease Monkey
hi try chevrolet service news it will tell you everything you will need tip it in just like it is.

35Gene
Oreo Offline OP
Shade Tree Mechanic
OP Offline
Shade Tree Mechanic
Is the Service News on line somewhere specifically? there were millions of entries when I tried google.

Oil Can Mechanic
Oil Can Mechanic
You don't need to remove the rear end. Assuming you need to access the engine, clutch or transmission (and not remove the entire torque tube), just open up the housing at the rear of the trans that has the u-joint in it. Loosen the gland nut at the rear of this housing and slide it down the torque tube towards the rear end. That exposes the u-joint that can then be removed. The transmission can then be removed as needed too. The housing is filled with oil, so be prepared to catch it.

Oreo Offline OP
Shade Tree Mechanic
OP Offline
Shade Tree Mechanic
Sounds simple enough. Thanks!

ChatMaster - 25,000
ChatMaster - 25,000