Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
gnewt Offline OP
Shade Tree Mechanic
OP Offline
Shade Tree Mechanic

Hello Everyone

I'm new to chevy chatter II and this is my first post, i have been looking for a 49-54 chevy wagon for sometime, and then all of a sudden i'm contacted by two different gentlemen with two very similar wagons, so they both sent me their photos and i was just about to make a decision and then it hit me, i hadn't asked if the cars had clear titles, one answered no the other never replied back.

My question is, how do i purchase a vehicle located in another state that has been sitting for GOD knows how long, has no title, the plates on the car are still from another state (confused yet) and have it transported to California for restoration? and not have any problems later when i go to get the title and register the car in both of our names.

I know it's been done, i've seen it on television, read it in car magazines and even talked to people at car shows on how they bought their car from a farmers barn or field or even a junkyard and turned it into an award winner, but never provide any specific details.

My son and i were planning to restore the car together, and if i don't purchase a car soon i'm afraid i will loose him to the California streets, and this is my last ditch effort to do it right, so if there is someone out there that has knowledge of how to proceed with this type of purchase, i will be ever grateful, and just think you might just be helping out someone else with the same dilemma, not to mention you will have saved another precious classic car from the rath and decay of mother nature.

you may contact me at my email address: gemnewt@yahoo.com

I'm looking forward to hearing from you.

best regards

gnewt/grease monkey

Filling Station - Chevrolet & GMC Reproduction Parts