Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Chevcop Offline OP
Shade Tree Mechanic
OP Offline
Shade Tree Mechanic
I have a 33 Master. I mounted a 33 Chevrolet heater in it many years ago. I did not hook up the hoses at that time. I am looking for advice on the installation of the hoses.

There are three locations where the hoses can be connected. One is the lower radiator hose. One is just below the thermostat in the water jacket. One is in the left rear of the head where the Temperature gauge connects. I have the fittings to connect at any of the three locations.

My question is, which two connections are correct?

I believe that the one on the lower radiator hose is the correct connection for the return line from the heater.

I have seen them with the supply hose connected at both other places.

Which is the proper way and if either works then which way is the most efficient?

Does anybody make a valve to shut off the water when the heater is not in use? It could be a valve that is operated manually. I would rather not go with a modern water valve purchased from a plumbing supply house.

Any help would be appreciated.

Rich James
Filling Station - Chevrolet & GMC Reproduction Parts

Filling Station

ChatMaster - 3,000
ChatMaster - 3,000
I have done some research for installing the heater in my '35 Standard. This is what I remember.
The hot water supply to the heater is from the plug below your thermostat. The stat creates some resistance to force the water toward the heater. A shut-off valve is located at this spot.
I see the correct (I think) shut-off valve on ebay, for $29.99, photographed on the cover of a 1960 or so Master Parts Catalog. It is Y shaped with the valve handle in one arm and threaded at the bottom to screw into the head.