Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Shade Tree Mechanic
OP Offline
Shade Tree Mechanic
Howdy All,

I did not want to hijack the previous post on HPOCF certification, if I should have posted there then I apologize for the extra topic.

My 1931 Special Sedan received it's HPOCF certification this past week at the 47th Central Meet (Proud Papa syndrone... sorry...). At the time the engine already had an issue with rod knock which I attempted to fix while there to some success, those who were there will testify to the greasiness of the situation.

I looked through the judging manual and the HPOCF judging form and did not find an answer to my question (maybe I just did not understand since I am very new to this) which is, if I rebuild the engine with new bearings (I am considering having the mains cut to accept insert bearings) and new pistons (aluminum just to help the engine run better as I drive this car a fair amount), then I have I affected the originality of the engine to the point that the car is no longer certifiable? Will I have to return the Oval the car received?

The bearing job will definitely have to be done in the near future because unfortunately these things never get better in my experience (limited that it may be...).

I appreciate any thoughts or opinions on the situation.

Thanks in advance,

Rusty Berg

ChatMaster - 25,000
ChatMaster - 25,000
Internal repairs and internal "improvements" inside of the engine will not eleminate the engine compartment from being certified.
Repainting the engine and its "bolt-ons" will. Was the engine compartment certified? very few 1931's will have enough original engine paint remaining - so will never get certified.
Your main bearings already have inserts, The rods have the babbit "attached" directly to the rod rather than having the babbit applied to an insert.