Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Tech Advisor
ChatMaster - 25,000
OP Offline
Tech Advisor
ChatMaster - 25,000
Most of you old time Junkyard Puppies (and some of the new puppies too) that attended the last two Junkyard Dog Adventures held in the Medford, Oregon area will, no doubt, remember Haskins Garage in Ashland, Oregon. As you recall Haskins Garage is a vintage machine shop and parts house and it is owned and run by a great old dude known as Wally Cannon. A machinist by trade, Wally, in his younger days, was also an oval dirt track racer and in later years (prior to taking over Haskins Garage) he owned Harrison Auto Parts in downtown Ashland, Oregon as well.

Several of the Junkyard Puppies purchased new old replacement stock parts from Wally on the last two JYD Adventures and we all had a great time in his shop. Wally's vintage machine shop was so popular on the 2005 JYD tour that many requests were made to go back to visit his shop again in 2006...which we did.

Unfortunately, I have some very sad news. Wally was climbing a ladder in his shop yesterday afternoon (details are sketchy at this point, but I assume that it was the ladder to the parts loft above the machine shop.....most of you puppies will remember the loft I'm sure) and he fell off of the ladder. Apparently Wally hit his head on the concrete floor when he landed and he sustained massive brain and skull injuries. Wally was rushed to a hospital in Medford and he was immediately admitted into the Intensive Care Unit where he passed away several hours later from his massive head injuries. There was nothing that medical science could do to save him.