Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#471517 06/29/22 10:36 PM
Grease Monkey
OP Offline
Grease Monkey
so looking into advice on my 1925 engine series K.
ill try to be as detailed as i can be. also sorry if terms are wrong or i'm missing something obvious. i am brand new to cars and engines with this car and just started learning about 3 months ago.

got the car non running (was fuel related and remedied)

the engine runs well and idles a bit high with a slight loss of power every 10 or so seconds only at idle. i have it set high so it wont stall. if i lower the idle screw it is just about right on the speed/rpm but that loss of power every 10 or so seconds will cause it to stall. it runs better warm but does not remedy the issues.
i seem to grind first gear way too often with the higher rpms to be happy with where it is set.
i cant retard the spark all the way without it stalling to test the RPM to set it at about 300. at full advance it gets about 600RPM using method in the manual (12 seconds timing = 60 lifts of valve arm) so 60x10=600

i've tried nearly everything besides pulling the pistons.
compression is good, new head gasket, new oil, rust flushed from engine and radiator. carbon scraped from cylinders when head removed.
spark is good. tried Autolite 3076's which worked well and Champion W89D (since 3077s arent made) as well as autolite t7 which ran terribly in the car but its what it came with. all gapped at 0.30 as per my repair manual but i see alot of people state 0.25 on here.
valves have all had a lapping in the cylinder head and stems polished to 2500grit
i have one spring that is ever so slightly shorter but does not resolve the issue to lift up on it with screw driver as per manual while running. it is spring #5 exhaust of cylinder 3 (planning to replace soon anyway.)