Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#440807 04/08/20 07:20 PM
Grease Monkey
OP Offline
Grease Monkey
Hi everyone. New to the forum. I have a 1940 Chevrolet Special Deluxe that doesnt seem to have any fuel moving to the carborator. I opened the glass dish above the fuel pump and dry as a bone. So before I start taking things apart that I have never tried before - any tips ? will assume that the system needs to be primed - if so - how. also - the gasket between the glass upside down bowl and mating surface is solid - will assume replacement ? Thanks

ChatMaster - 4,000
ChatMaster - 4,000
It sounds like there is no fuel even getting to the pump.

I suggest you need to start with the simple things. Is there enough gas in the tank? If the tank was empty and you only added a gallon that might not be enough to reach the fuel outlet.

Is there a shut-off valve at the tank outlet? If so, is it open?

I would disconnect the fuel line going to the fuel pump. Then take a piece of hose that fits over that fuel line. Remove the fuel cap and blow through that hose. You should hear bubbles in the tank.

Let us know what you determine.

If you can get gas to flow to the pump then I expect the pump needs rebuilt or replaced.

Rusty

VCCA #44680
ChatMaster - 25,000
ChatMaster - 25,000
Iff there is gas in the tank the fuel tank pick=up could be rusted off, gas line pluged-up or bad fuel pump.
To prime pour about 2 OZ of gas into the carb. throat and try.

Gene Schneider
Backyard Mechanic
Backyard Mechanic
Yes you need to replace the gasket between the glass bowl and the fuel pump body with a new one. Remember that it is much easier to suck air than gas, so the seal must be air tight as the pump or it will not pull any gas. Use a new cork gasket. Tom

Shade Tree Mechanic
Shade Tree Mechanic