Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Grease Monkey
OP Offline
Grease Monkey
Hi, everybody.
I am a journalist in Norfolk, Va., writing about a '57 210 Townsman wagon that I've traced back through all thirteen of its owners. I'd like to pin down as much information as I can about the car's origins. I know that it was built in Baltimore in early July 1957, and that its body was built by Fisher in Cleveland--the cowl tag body number begins with a "CL."
My first question: Does that refer to Coit Road or Euclid?
And does anyone know how I might figure out which Fisher stamping plant the car's panels came from? Is there a coding anywhere that will tell me that?
Many thanks.

Wilwood Engineering1955-1957

Willwood Engineering

Wilwood Engineering designs and manufactures high-performance disc brake systems.
Wilwood Engineering, Inc. - 4700 Calle Bolero - Camarillo, CA 93012 - (805) 388-1188

Backyard Mechanic
Backyard Mechanic
Hi Earl,
The Fisher Body Euclid plant that opened in 1948 and closed in the early 1980, I believe was always a Metal Trim Plant. (I saw a history of this plant somewhere but couldn't find it today - will look again tomorrow.) However at one time, it did build the early 1966-71 Olds Toronado bodies with the plant code "EUC".
The six Fisher Body Metal Fab Plants in 1957 were: Chicago, Grand Blanc, Hamilton, Mansfield, Marion and Pittsburgh. There is nothing on the 57 Chevy that indicates the source of the body panels.