Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Pat S Offline OP
ChatMaster - 1,500
OP Offline
ChatMaster - 1,500
How far in does it go in? Of course forgot to measure the old one before I drove it out. I assume somewhere where that dimple is. The book says using the right driver will position it exactly, unfortunately I don't have the right driver. By the way are thay all very reluctant to go in? Mine came from FS.

Best Regards, Pat
Filling Station - Chevrolet & GMC Reproduction Parts

Filling Station

ChatMaster - 1,500
ChatMaster - 1,500
Hi Pat,

I just took my bushing out a few weeks ago. I'm going to put the same one you are in, since I bought it from FS as well. When I took mine out I studied it really close and it went all the way down to the stop. So just push it all the way down and you should be ok.

Also I've talked with Steve at the FS about this bushing a couple of weeks ago and he said he has had to take some material off to get them to fit in some Mast jackets.

Also if you did know it, the bushing you’re using is made by Chipper. So maybe Chip can add some input if he sees this post.

Bruce

32 Confederate
Bruce S. DeFord
VCCA Judging Committee Chair

The Great American Value for 1932
http://www.vccacolumbiariverregion.org/
ChatMaster - 750
ChatMaster - 750
Well as usual, the catalog descriptions leave you more confused than when you started looking.
The Filling Station catalog listing for their two bearings appear to over lap with no explanation why and with big price differences. I list the two here:
DC-008 - STEERING COLUMN BEARING Upper Mast Jacket Bearing 1939-1963 for $17.50.
FS-214 - STEERING COLUMN BEARING 49-54 Pass, 47-59 Truck with Horn Wire for $49.50.