Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
RichK Offline OP
Backyard Mechanic
OP Offline
Backyard Mechanic
I have a '37 Master Deluxe that has been under restoration for about 30 years. I have a generator that was rebuilt in 1982, on the reciept it says to use this generator with a voltage regulator. The generator does not have an i.d. plate. It is a three brush generator. This is all I know for sure.

In conversation with ChevGene, I purchased a Delco Remy voltage regulator on ebay. This unit was in the original package and is identified with part number 1118309, hand written on the box is "37 - 39 All" and "2500 Group." Stamped on the left side of the base of the alternator is the number 309. There are three lugs for wires, but inside the cover are only two coils. On my generator, there is one wiring lug mounted to the case and one wire that comes out through the case and extends a couples of inches.

Can anyone confirm for me that I have a regulator that is appropriate to use with the generator that I have with what little information that I can give?

Can you assist in how it should be wired into the circut?

Thanks,

Rich

1937 Master Deluxe 4-door Sport Sedan
Restoration project 99% complete
May never get to 100%
ChatMaster - 25,000
ChatMaster - 25,000
The wire that "extends" a few inches was for the cut-out relay that was mounted to the 1937 generator because it did not use a regulator. The cut-out is mounted in the voltage regulator in the 1938. The cut-ot disconnects the generator from the battery when the generator is not putting out or when the engine is not running.Without a cut-out in place the generator will not work. I guess that it would be almost impossible to say what generator you have or what was done to it.
The cut out terminal on the reg. is stamped Battery.