VCCA Home
Posted By: Tree 1983 El Camino Base model rebuild - 04/06/22 04:47 AM
I have a 1983 base model El Camino. My engine finally blew out and I need to replace it along with the carburetor because the carburetor does not match the engine. this is my first time working on a car. what used engine should I look for? (I have no background knowledge of cars or mechanical work)
Posted By: tonyw Re: 1983 El Camino Base model rebuild - 04/06/22 08:31 AM
Welcome to Chatter.
Most of us on this forum will recommend tracking down the original parts for the car which proves easier to do than modifying to fit something different and make it work properly.
If you have limited mechanical knowledge I would advise offering a friend that has a lot more knowledge a few appropriate beverages after the repairs to celebrate.
Tony
Posted By: Tiny Re: 1983 El Camino Base model rebuild - 04/06/22 11:26 AM
wel2 parking
I'll move this to a technical forum so you'll get a wider audience. I would recommend getting in contact with one or more local car club members and ask who they use. Good luck with your project.
Posted By: Chev Nut Re: 1983 El Camino Base model rebuild - 04/06/22 02:07 PM
Which engine did it have? A 229 or 231 V6, A 307 V8 or?
Posted By: Mr87Monty Re: 1983 El Camino Base model rebuild - 04/08/22 01:03 PM
I have an 1987 Monte Carlo LS with the 4.3 TBI motor in it. GM G-Body based car like yours. This is the one that really got me into the car hobby. The 41 Chevy is a father son project that came later.

As for engines first ask your self what you want to do with this vehicle. The G-Body platform had different v6 and v8 engines applied to it over the years. Cruising around or performance. Keep it stock or hotrod. Budget?

The cheapest option is to replace the engine you have with the same one. If everything else in the car works the replacement should bolt in. No adapters etc.