Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#479615 03/15/23 09:15 AM
Grease Monkey
OP Offline
Grease Monkey
Hi All,

Thanks to a lot of advice from this forum, my 1927 Chevy Jitterbug drove for the first time since the 1990s yesterday. The videos are too large to load, but she runs very clean and very smooth. I was able to stop all the various small water leaks by tightening the applicable bolts. There is one leak that is concerning. As you will see in the picture, there is a small round spot in the engine block, it weeps a very small amount of water. I am guessing this is a hole in the block that was fixed long ago, but I don't know. Any thoughts?

The engine is running very well, starts easily, and the timing sounds perfect. However, it seems that she is running very hot. Since I have no prior experience, I am not really sure what "normal" looks like. It was 35 degrees fahrenheit outside yesterday. She took almost two gallons of distilled water to fill. After running for about 15 minutes, as soon as she sat still for a couple minutes, the radiator cap came off and she was steaming pretty hard. Keep in mind, the threads are gone for the radiator cap so my cap is just an upside down can, so there nothing keeping it on except gravity. The fan and water pump shaft were both spinning rapidly throughout.

I think I need to confirm that the pump is working properly. But I do not know how to test this. Any other comments, thoughts, or remedies?

Attached Images
IMG_4336.jpg
Filling Station - Chevrolet & GMC Reproduction Parts

Filling Station

ChatMaster - 4,000
ChatMaster - 4,000
It would not surprise me if there are still some pockets of air in the system.

What is the overall condition of the cooling system? Have the radiator and block been cleaned?