Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Backyard Mechanic
OP Offline
Backyard Mechanic
I have a 1941 Master Deluxe and the radio was in with the parts I received with the car. I would like to install the radio in the car but as there are only 3 AM stations left in my area and they are all talk radio it would not get used much. This is more of a if it is a cheep and easy fix it will go in and if not then the blank plate will stay in.

The radio is model 985793. Two of the buttons are missing the rods behind them. I have never powered this on to know its condition. Before I go further than cleaning it I would like to know the following:

1. What type of plug should be connecting this? I saw a fuse with dried up rubber around it stuck in the back or the radio. I got the fuse out and the rubber just crumbled.

2. I have been told that the vibrator should be replaced on these when putting them back in the car. I did look at what is labeled as the vibrator and it has a old Delco logo stamped on it. Why does this need to be done and how do I know if this part is good?

3. All of the tubes have the same Delco stamp on them as the vibrator except one. It has a Sylvania stamp and defiantly looks newer. Only one tube has a black color to it. Other than a tube tester (i do not have one) is there any way to test these? I have a multimeter.

4. One of the knobs has a white dial behind it with the letters VMB on it. It can be turned to each of these locations. What are these?

5. Do these light up only when the radio is on or whenever the headlights are on, I suspect only when they are powered up. Or do they not light up at all? Never seen one of these working and have not dug into it far enough to find out if there are bulbs.