Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
ojh Offline OP
Grease Monkey
OP Offline
Grease Monkey
I'm new to the 1940 Special Deluxe, its been sitting for years and I'm going thru the brakes, replacing tubing, hoses, wheel cylinders and ran straight into a wall - how do I get the Master Cylinder out? Theres this other gizmo connected to the transmission that I can't fathom and its right in the way not mention the pedals seem to pivot in the Master Cylinder, I just can't get my head around it. I looked for an access panel in the floor but there isn't one. Am I missing something? how do I get the M.C. out?
I have the Chevrolet 1940 Service Manual coming but it won't be here until next week and I've got my hands dirty now and want to get things done.
Can somebody explain to me what all I'm looking at?
Thanks, Oj

ChatMaster - 25,000
ChatMaster - 25,000
The gizmo you are looing at is the vcuum power gear shift cylinder,
Master cylinder has two bolts holdingit on to the frame member.
Is the car a convertible? That master cylider is more difficult to get at duue to the X frame.

Gene Schneider
Backyard Mechanic
Backyard Mechanic
This is for 41-48 but I assume the 40 is similar, if not disregard. In addition to the tubing and the two bolts Gene mentions, the lower halves of the pedals usually need to be removed from the master cylinder prior to removal. Disconnect the upper halves of the pedals under the hood on the face of the firewall. On the front of the cylinder where the lower pedals rotate, there is a plug. Remove the plug and there is a retainer in the hole. The retainer is tapped to screw in what I believe is a #10-24 machine screw. You can use the screw to pull out the retainer. Once removed the lower halves of the pedals will slide out of the master cylinder. Mike

1 member likes this: ojh
ChatMaster - 1,000
ChatMaster - 1,000