Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
ABowlin Offline OP
Shade Tree Mechanic
OP Offline
Shade Tree Mechanic
I’m no electrician, so looking for aid on how to find what is draining the battery. Is there a best method to track a short? Would love to leave it connected instead of hooking it up / unhooking it every time I want to drive.

Thanks.

Filling Station - Chevrolet & GMC Reproduction Parts

Filling Station

ChatMaster - 25,000
ChatMaster - 25,000
You can disconnect each elerical item one at a time some as simple as removing the fuse.
This includes disconnecting the generator.

Gene Schneider
ChatMaster - 4,000
ChatMaster - 4,000
Does your ammeter indicate a discharge when everything is supposed to be off? That should be a great indicator.

What car is having this problem?

Rusty

VCCA #44680
ABowlin Offline OP
Shade Tree Mechanic
OP Offline
Shade Tree Mechanic
Hey Rusty, this is for my 33 1.5 truck. It’s always had a short since my Dad restored it 25+ years ago. Only the temp gauge works, so going to start with the gauge wiring first.

Are you thinking I should turn it off and start seeing what is still giving off power with my ammeter?

ChatMaster - 4,000
ChatMaster - 4,000
Remember that on these old Chevy’s the temperature gauge and oil pressure are mechanical gauges. There are no electrical connections needed to make them work. Think of this. The temperature gauge still registers engine heat when the engine is not running.

I am suggesting that the ammeter in the instrument panel should show “neutral” (no charge or discharge) when the ignition is turned off and none of the lights are turned on.