Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#471468 06/28/22 11:34 PM
JrzVol Offline OP
Grease Monkey
OP Offline
Grease Monkey
Hi all, I'm a newbie looking for some guidance here. I'm loaded with stupid questions. I am no car expert but I love older vehicles and sometimes I chew off a little more than I can chew. I have a 1950 Chevy 3600 with a recently blown engine. Love the truck, but it was never what we wanted underneath the hood. Looking to replace the original straight 6 with a small block 8 (used/remanufacured/possibly crate). I'd like to find somewhere to have it replaced but have no idea where I can have this done. trying to avoid my local garage based on past experience. I've searched the internet, but haven't been able to discern whether any of these places are legit, and what I should really expect to pay. Is there a site or directory that's legit and might help me find somewhere that will do this for a reasonable price?

Go Vols!
Become a Member!

JOIN THE VCCA and get access to the member-only features of the forum, including the ability to upload photos. You'll also receive our monthly magazine "Generator & Distributor". Yearly membership as low as $25!

Hall Monitor
ChatMaster - 7,000
Online Content
Hall Monitor
ChatMaster - 7,000
Welcome to VCCA Chat! I don't know how many of us are experienced with hotrodding a 50 3600 but someone will be along shortly who can help you out. I'll direct you to the Personalized Modifications forum as the forum most likely to find the folks here who can help you out. I also might recommend you visit stovebolt.com and register there if you haven't already. That site specializes in trucks and has a lot of hotrod folks spending time there. Good luck with your project.

VCCA Member 43216
Save a life, adopt a senior shelter pet.
1938 HB Business Coupe
1953 210 Sedan
Backyard Mechanic
Backyard Mechanic