Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Backyard Mechanic
OP Offline
Backyard Mechanic
I am self taught and most of my knowledge comes from the late 1980's era GM 4.3 v6 with TBI. I know this is a different animal but that is what is in the car that got me into this hobby. Now I am working on a 41 Master Deluxe with the original 6v system.

My charging system knowledge was that the alternator at all times supplied enough power to run the engine and car's electronics. Any excess was used to charge the battery. The output of the alternator should should be enough to do this plus a percentage incase added draw is required at any time.

Now I thought a generator was just a did the same thing but with a different technology. I thought all the same rules applied, then I asked a question in another thread and received an answer that made me realize how wrong I may be.

Rusty 37 stated, 'Remember that a generator provides no output at idle.'

Now I have the following questions:
1. At idle is the generator or the battery providing the power to run the engine. I.E where is the power to the coil coming from?
2. Will the car drain the battery if left to run at idle for an extended period of time?
3. Does the battery only charge while driving?
4. What is the difference between 40 amp at 6 volt and 40 amp at 12 volt? I was just adding up the amount drawn by each item at once and making sure it was less than 40.
5. How many amps are used by the engine?
6. How many amps are required to maintain the battery?
7. The amp meter appears to work, I only watched the gauge while idling the car. I noticed it was on the charging side and thought nothing of it being steady. Is this how it should be?