Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#351345 09/11/15 12:02 PM
Grease Monkey
OP Offline
Grease Monkey
Hi guys, newbie here. Just bought a '47 Town Sedan and began working some issues with it and changing out a few things. It will not be fully original (sorry to any purists out there).

When I pulled the LF brake drum, several pieces fell out onto the shop floor including a holddown spring, clip, a nut, and a bolt. It was clear where all the parts went, but it raised a few questions.

I have a Motor's manual that covers this car and a shop manual specific for it. Unfortunately neither of them give a lot of detail about the Huck brake system. This drives me to my questions.

I straightened up the small kink that had been formed in the holddown spring from rolling around in the drum and using the key clip, reattached it to the backing plate. That brought up my first question. Should the clip connect to the backing plate from the front, rear, or does it matter?

Next, the bolt had some thread issues (also from apparently rolling around in the drum) so I chased the threads with a die and went to reinstall it. The front shoe had a similar bolt holding the bottom of the shoe to the articulating link, so I assembled the rear one that had come out in the same fashion. Unfortunately, I had no idea how tight to make this bolt. All my searching to date has lead me to believe these are supposed to be pins and clips, not bolts and nuts. So, my second question is has anyone else seen bolts and nuts holding shoes to the articulating link, and if so, how tight should they be?

(Note: if this has been discussed somewhere else, I couldn't find it and when I tried to use the search function it stated I didn't have permission to do so.)

Thanks,
Rick

Filling Station - Chevrolet & GMC Reproduction Parts

Filling Station

ChatMaster - 1,500
ChatMaster - 1,500