VCCA Home
Posted By: CONWAYDE 1948 Fleetline - 08/04/15 05:07 PM
New member here and new owner of a 48 Fleetline Aerosedan. It's pretty much all original at 72K miles, with lots of options, and seems to be the product of an older restore. This is my first vintage car. I was told to use straight 30 weight oil. Should I also add some ZDD Plus or other additive to the oil and how often should it be changed? I was also told to use a lead additive in the gas, as the original bearings are still babbitt. I'm no mechanic but I'm learning as I go along. Any other useful tips for a new owner would be appreciated. I'll try to post a pic of the car as soon as I figure out how to do this...

Sorry if I'm asking questions that have been asked 100 times, but it seems I need to make several postings before I can use the search function.

Dave
Posted By: Chev Nut Re: 1948 Fleetline - 08/04/15 06:47 PM
wel2
Congratulations on your purchase of a 1948 Aerosedan.
Best oil to use is 10W-30, detergent, and no additives are necessary. There was NO zinc in the oil in 1948 and very little in detergensts. There is enough zinc in todays 10W-30 for the low cam to lifter lobe pressure in a straight six Chevrolet engine (they almost never wore out cam lobes).
If the engine is sludged up it is advisable to drop the pan and clean the oil pump screen as the tended to get plugged-up with the old oils.
In a nut sheel todays oils are 100 times better than the oils in 1948. I would change oil once a year (in Fall) or evey 100-1500 miles.

As far as the gas is concerned lead additives (which really don;t contain lead) are completely unnecessary. Lead was added years ago to raise the octane as the refining process was not as good as it is today. Lead is actually harmful to exhaust system, spark plugs and engine bearings. 87 octane gas today is of a higher octane than premimum was in 1950.
As a note all bearings have a babbitt lining, even in todays cars.