Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#77103 05/08/05 01:08 PM
Denny O Offline OP
Shade Tree Mechanic
OP Offline
Shade Tree Mechanic
I have been fixing old car radios for the past two years as a hobby and for friends. I am wondering if there is a book or manual that lists or presents model numbers or has pictures of Chevrolet Radios for different years. I have been mostly working on the 40s, 50s, and 60s radios. Whenever I go the a swap meet I have to ask what year is that radio. I usually get a wrong answer. I would like to be a little better informed. Does anyone have any hints or clues that could help me?
Regards,
Denny Oestreich.
OestreichD@AOL.com

Denny Oestreich
Support The VCCA!

Enjoy the forum? Become a VCCA member! The World's Best Chevrolet and GMC Club!

#77104 05/08/05 03:53 PM
Technical Advisor
ChatMaster - 10,000
Technical Advisor
ChatMaster - 10,000
Hi Denny O,

From 1980 through 1985, a very knowledgeable VCCA member wrote a series of articles for the G & D focusing on one Chevrolet radio each article. I have seen several vendors that have copied all those articles, put them in a binder, and refer to them at swap meets. These article included at least 4 photographs of the featured radio. This is perhaps the best reference on Chevrolet radios because of the pictures.

Another source is the Sam’s manuals from #1 through #20. These manuals have all the schematics from approximately 1950 through 1970 and later. In some cases they show an outline picture of the radios for identification. They are all identified by Model #.