Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#449925 11/05/20 05:14 PM
signsup Offline OP
Grease Monkey
OP Offline
Grease Monkey
Newbie here. Got several Chevy G506, the military WWII 1 1/2 ton trucks, but that's not why I'm here. Might have to go to the fire truck board, but saw this board and stopped here.
Working on post war truck that is 24v and fellow club member wants his siren connected. Missing the data plate, so don't know what brand. 12v solren is stamped on the inside so we can connect to one 12v battery and then to a switch and then to the siren.
We took it to a local starter shop and they replaced some internal wires and tested it on 12v. We get it home and it fries our test leads. Take it back and they check it out drawing 30 amps and recommend 6 gauge wire, which is, basically jumper cable thickness. The two small terminals on this siren and the original wires that were connected to it doesn't make this thick wire make sense.
I can't see running jumper cables allover the fender and down to the switch and over to a battery. Something isn't adding up here.
I found another forum post about running the 6 gauge wire from the battery to a solenoid and then 14 gauge wires to the switch and to the siren and back to the solenoid, but I don't see how the solenoid is acting as a amp reducer.

Any thoughts on how to wire this siren up without melting wires?

I'll hang up and listen.

Why do we drive on parkways and park on driveways?
Support The VCCA!

Enjoy the forum? Become a VCCA member! The World's Best Chevrolet and GMC Club!

Oil Can Mechanic
Oil Can Mechanic
I just talked to a friend who is an ex fireman and who ran a business installing 2way radios, sirens, lights, etc. Although it had been too many years since he had installed a mechanical siren, 30 amps sounded low to him. I think you are gonna need the big wire.