Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Grease Monkey
OP Offline
Grease Monkey
I have a 1948 Fleetmaster. The car has never started well in the time that I've owned it. The starter turns very slowly and completely slows to a stop if the engine is warm.

New 6 volt battery, new 00 battery cables installed, starter and generator rebuilt by a very reputable shop. Knowing that a bad ground can cause these symptoms, I connected both leads of a jumper cable to the starter body and then direct to the battery neg terminal = no difference.

Confirmed that the generator is working fine but the settling point on the ammeter is halfway between center and far right. It eventually stays steady with little bouncing around.

Headlights are much dimmer than other 6 volt cars that I own.
The horn volume is not nearly as loud as my buddy's '48 Fleetline.

The car does start better with a shot from a jump pack. It also starts better when I jump it with another 6-volt car.

Any ideas?

Thanks!

Steve A.

'46 Chevy 3600 3/4 ton Pickup
'48 Chevy Fleetmaster Sport Coupe with Country Club kit
'63 Chevy Monza Spyder convertible
ChatMaster - 6,000
ChatMaster - 6,000
Steve A,

Sounds to me that you have covered everything that may impact slow starting. Nonetheless, it is obvious that something is amiss. Try this:

a. Take the spark plugs out and then try turning it over. If still somewhat slow then it's the starter.

b. If it spins right up like a bat out of hell, then it would seem there is nothing wrong with the starter and must, therefore, be in the ground or battery..

c. If the battery seems good, then turn everything off and use the 12V jumper, If still not up to snuft, then it's back to the starter.