Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Bahpi Offline OP
Grease Monkey
OP Offline
Grease Monkey
Hi, I hope nobody minds me asking this here but I am pretty new to cars and the like and I was reading a book the other day and got to thinking. Maybe this is a silly question but when it comes to a straight 6 and a V6 engine, what's the major difference apart from the layout? What are the pros and cons of each.

I hope this wasn't out of place and I appriciate any answers that you might lay down on the table :)

Thanks for helping a novice!

~James

Filling Station - Chevrolet & GMC Reproduction Parts

Filling Station

ChatMaster - 2,000
ChatMaster - 2,000
bahpi,

I think the major consideration given by engineers whether to equip a vehicle with a straight vs. vee is the physical dimensions of each...

modern vehicles with their more efficient chassis & body size would utilize a vee to conserve space...ever see how long a straight twelve engine is?..you'd need a lot of hood to cover it...

ok epi

Backyard Mechanic
Backyard Mechanic
Don't straight 6's put less friction and strain on the main shaft, cams, and gear than V-6's? I seem to recall mentions (or maybe it's urban legend) in past times that this is why those old slant 6 Dodge Darts and straight 6 Novas alway ran and ran and ran far beyond thier expected life cycles.

Backyard Mechanic
Backyard Mechanic

ChatMaster - 1,500
ChatMaster - 1,500
That was a good Article, Thanks

32 Confederate
Bruce S. DeFord
VCCA Judging Committee Chair

The Great American Value for 1932
http://www.vccacolumbiariverregion.org/
Bahpi Offline OP
Grease Monkey
OP Offline
Grease Monkey