Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Shade Tree Mechanic
OP Offline
Shade Tree Mechanic
Hi All, this is my first post. I have been following the club and appreciate the knowledge I have gained.

I have a 35 Master Coupe with original 207 and trans. The trans has proven to be a bit unusual as it is a T83-1T on the case and T83-148D on the shift plate. In rebuilding, it needed a main drive gear normally for a Ford (4 gears on shaft instead of 3). We replaced bearings and the u-joint. Also replaced the drive shaft bearing in the torque tube.

Car drives fine in 1st and 2nd, but when I let off gas in 3rd, there is a vibration, roaring sound. Depending on the speed, it is intermittent, but always when decelerating. I plan to inspect the u-joint this weekend, but hoping you could advise on all the things to check that could be causing the sound and vibration.

thanks guys... just one of the 35 reasons that are driving me crazy!

John Myatt
Filling Station - Chevrolet & GMC Reproduction Parts

Filling Station

ChatMaster - 25,000
ChatMaster - 25,000
common cause coud be loose drive shaft bushings or U joint. If not those the rear pinion bearing in the differential can cause this.

Yes, a number of 1935 and a few 1936 Masters used a Warner gear box, same as Ford used. This was due to a strke at the GM plant.

Gene Schneider
Shade Tree Mechanic
OP Offline
Shade Tree Mechanic
Hi Gene, thanks for the feedback! Did not know about the GM strike, but good to know. Figured it was lack of supply due to the Depression, which I guess is why they went on strike?