Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#381718 01/10/17 05:12 PM
Oil Can Mechanic
OP Offline
Oil Can Mechanic
I'm attempting spot repairs on several areas on my car that was painted with Dupont acrylic lacquer 30 years ago. The prior owner left me about a quart of each body color, still in a liquid state, in the original cans but would like more since I'm a novice and could use the extra to practice with. I have Dupont's original paint codes and names. Oddly the green background color on this chat forum is an exact match for one of them. laugh See my avatar.

Would any of you guys know of a paint supplier that could reproduce these colors using the Dupont paint codes ? I'm waiting for a reply from TCP Global but thought I'd look elsewhere if they say NO. With no gun painting experience, I'd like to stick with forgiving lacquer rather than try to go match up a urethane or enamel somewhere.

Also, anyone here have experience shooting acrylic lacquer through a HVLP gun ? Tip size ? Appreciate any advice. Thanks !

If it ain't broke…..fix it 'til it is.
Tech Advisor
ChatMaster - 25,000
Tech Advisor
ChatMaster - 25,000
I have had acrylic lacquer colors matched at my local PPG dealer. However, some states like California (California bans everything) has banned lacquer.

laugh wink beer2

The Mangy Old Mutt

"If It's Not Junk.....It's Not Treasure!"
Backyard Mechanic
Backyard Mechanic
Check out the following website:

http://www.antiqueautopaints.com

This is Ray Winstead, he was a member of the VCCA. It is a mail order business that works toward the supply of automotive paints for restorers. I talked to him yesterday and he is a transition at the present time and may or may not be able to help at the present time.

Dave Cufr #12505
1927 Capitol coupe
1928 National 4-door
1928 Speedster
1936 Standard Town Sedan