Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#279684 06/01/13 06:12 AM
Verd Offline OP
Shade Tree Mechanic
OP Offline
Shade Tree Mechanic
I'm hoping to start my engine for the first time and would like some advice.
The engine was rebuilt in '08 and has never had oil in it. I sprayed some Marvel Mistery oil in the spark plug holes, let it sit for a week and then turned it over with the hand crank. I know the valves have to be set close to specs but then final set with the engine running. I have some experienced help coming but want to here from anyone out there that has any tips on what I should be doing with this engine in particular. And if anyone knows the correct plug gap for champ. c-16's I'd be greatfull.
Thanks in advance.

Verd

Filling Station - Chevrolet & GMC Reproduction Parts

Filling Station

ChatMaster - 15,000
ChatMaster - 15,000
It is best to lubricate everything you can before starting the engine. If assembly lube was used when the engine was put together it may not be necessary to take out the distributor and rotate the oil pump (for a minute or more after oil pressure is measured) to fill the main bearing reservoirs and troughs. I would still recommend it to be sure those parts have oil when they begin to rotate. That way you know the oil pump will be working. Also squirting oil onto the valve train parts and down the push rods (to lube the lifters) is a good idea.