Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Grease Monkey
OP Offline
Grease Monkey
Is it advisable to put non detergent oil in my newly rebuilt 235 c 6 cyl engine?

Filling Station - Chevrolet & GMC Reproduction Parts

Filling Station

ChatMaster - 3,000
ChatMaster - 3,000
I used detergent oil in our 54/235 for several years and never had a problem. I also use 10W30 Penzoil Detergent oil in our 31/194 engine. I drive our cars about 2,000 miles per year and change the oil at the end of the season and am ready to go the next year. This is just my experience with no problems. I'm no expert.

See you Touring the Back Roads

Joined VCCA June 1, 1961
Grease Monkey
OP Offline
Grease Monkey
I have been running 30 weight detergent oil in winter and 40 weight detergent oil in the summer months when it get pretty hot out here .. I'm having the engine rebuilt (bearings rods, rings, etc.) wondered if it was good idea to switch to non detergent oil going forward?

ChatMaster - 10,000
ChatMaster - 10,000
Alan, I would certainly not consider using non-detergent oil in your 235 engine. Even where you live I would use a good brand of detergent 10-30 W oil, year round specially after doing an overhaul. You didn't say whether your engine was hydraulic lifters or mechanical lifters. I would never use non-detergent engine oil in any of my Chevrolets from 1928 roaring four thru a 2011 in an engine in good condition.

Life's a long winding trail, love Jesus and ride a good horse!
ChatMaster - 25,000
ChatMaster - 25,000