Reproduction Parts for 1916-1964 Chevrolet Passenger Cars & 1918-1987 Chevrolet & GMC Trucks

Visit the new site at vcca.org

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Backyard Mechanic
OP Offline
Backyard Mechanic
I have no experience with generators or cut out switches so am wondering if mine are wired correctly. I have a newer generator in my '34 (no tag) and am fairly confident my mechanic father-in-law had it rebuilt but it was not hooked up when I inherited the car.

It is a three brush unit and (unlike the original'34) has two terminals on the outside of the case. The cut out switch is connected to the terminal that goes to one of the brushes. The other terminal is grounded to the case. Is that correct? And what is this 2nd terminal connected to internally?

Also, the cutout switch has no markings for the two terminals so can it be hooked up either way or is polarity an issue?

Thirdly, I vaguely recall from many years ago, a generator needed to be polarized after installing. If so, how is that done?

When I had the engine running earlier, the ammeter did not show much, if any, charge but does show discharge with lights on,etc.

I will appreciate your replies!!

1934 Three Window Coupe
[img]http://www.youngsdecks.com/YoungsDecks/1934_Chevy.html[/img]
ChatMaster - 25,000
ChatMaster - 25,000
It looks as if you have a 1938-39 3 brush generator. When that is used as a replacement on a 1937 and prior the treminal is ground to the case. If you purchased a Delco universal replacement generator it came with the instructions for hooking up the wires. I had a set of the instructions but can't find them now.

Gene Schneider
Backyard Mechanic
OP Offline
Backyard Mechanic